Finance & Administration
HSC Home Finance & Administration Business Affairs Business Services Bursar

Student Financial Information

Academic Year 2016-2017

Tuition and Fees:

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center reserves the right, without notice in this or any other publication, to change, amend, add to, or otherwise alter any or all fees, dues, rates, or other charges set forth herein and subject to action by the Texas State Legislature, the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System, or other authority as the case may be.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center reserves the right to deny credit for course work completed in a semester or term and/or registration in a future semester or term for unpaid balances. This also includes the release of official academic transcripts.

The Health Sciences Center accepts no responsibility for billings or refund checks sent to incorrect addresses or difficulties caused by the postal service or other delivery services.

It is the student’s responsibility to ensure that payment is in the possession of the HSC Student Business Services Office by the established due dates announced each semester. Payment Information

Texas State Law requires that TTUHSC inform you of the portion of your tuition that is set aside to fund financial assistance programs for qualifying students.  The amount on your billing is the line item that begins 'Designated Tuition SA' for set aside.

Payment Policy:

Failure to make payment by the established due dates may result in cancellation of registration. Students who choose the payment option or who incur incidental fees during the semester must make full payment by the established due dates or be prohibited from registering for future terms until full payment is made. A student who is not 100% paid prior to the end of the term may be denied credit for course work completed that semester or term.

All students are required to complete a Student Payment Agreement each semester for classes at the TTUHSC. See HSC OP 77.10 Failure to complete this form may result in the cancellation of registration.

Fee Payment. Payment must be made prior to the first class day. Payment must reach the TTUHSC Student Business Services Office by close of business on the due date. Cancellation for non-payment will occur after close of business on the established cancellation date.

Tuition and fees may be paid using one of the following options:
Option 1: Payment of the total amount due (cash, check, credit card, 100% financial aid).
Option 2: Payment option plan (not available for all summer terms).
Option 3: Short-term emergency loan (tuition and fees only).

Payment Option Plan (Option 2)

Texas State Law (Texas Education Code, Section 54.007a) allows students to pay tuition, fees, housing, and dining in installments over the course of the semester.

A $25 billing fee is assessed to all students electing to pay by the installment payment plan. The $25 billing fee must accompany the first installment due for tuition and fees. Subsequent installments must be made in accordance with the due dates established for the particular semester and school of enrollment. Payment Information Payment option plans are not available for all summer terms.

Students may take actions which increase their account balance due, including, but not limited to: course add/drop (including additional course fees), campus vehicle registration, yearbook purchase, and other miscellaneous activities. Students must pay any increased amount due within two (2) business days to maintain an account in good standing. Please check account information via the Web to ensure compliance with the terms of the agreement.

Short-Term Emergency Loan (Option 3)

Students may request a Short-Term Emergency Loan for 100% payment of tuition and fees. Students should contact the TTUHSC Financial Aid Office at (806)743-3025 for additional information regarding application and loan requirements Short Term Loan Applications.

Billings

Billings will be emailed to all preregistered students approximately two weeks prior to the due date. Students registering after preregistration or those making changes to their billing after the initial billing has been emailed need to check their balances online at MyTech. Please keep addresses current.  All billing notifications will be delivered via the TTUHSC assigned e-mail address. 

General Payment Information:

Payment can be made as follows:

  • In Person. Students may pay in cash at the HSC Student Business Services Office or by personal check, cashier's check, money order. Checks should be made payable to Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. All payments made other than cash are subject to final acceptance for payment.
  • Mail. Cash should not be sent through the mail, and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center accepts no responsibility for cash sent by mail. Payments should be mailed to Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Student Business Services, Lubbock, Texas 79408. Payments should be mailed far enough in advance so as to reach Student Business Services by the due date.
  • Web Credit Card or E-Check Payments. Pay online at MyTech (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card, or Check). Payments by Credit Card will result in a services fee of 2% ($3 minimum). No fee is added for Electronic Check or Debit Card.

Account Information. Tuition and fee information can be obtained online at the following: MyTech. The student's eRaider user ID and password is required to view this information.

Late Payment Fee. A $50 per due date fee will be charged the first working day after the university-established due date. Postmarks will not be considered in assessing this charge.

Late Registration Fee. A $50 fee will be charged to registrations after classes have begun. This includes re-registration and re-enrollment in the event of cancellation.

Returned Check Charge. A $30 charge will be assessed for each check returned from the bank unpaid. A returned check for initial payment of tuition and fees may result in cancellation of enrollment. Responsibility rests with the student regardless of the maker of the check.

Reinstatement Fee. A $200 fee will be charged for registering, re-registering, or re-enrolling after the 20th class day (15th class day in summer). The amount of the reinstatement fee is subject to change by action of the Board of Regents without prior notice.

Refund Policy:

Refund credits for financial aid and other are processed at least twice a week as permitted by federal regulations.

Students may elect to receive refunds via direct deposit:  log onto the portal at (http://webraider.ttuhsc.edu/) select the MyTech tab; under the student account channel select My Direct Deposit.

IT IS THE STUDENT’S RESPONSIBILITY TO MAINTAIN A CURRENT ADDRESS IN THE STUDENT INFORMATION SYSTEM.

Refund Policies for Tuition and Fees. Texas Education Code, Section 54.006, provides the amount of tuition and fees to be refunded to students who drop courses or withdraw from the institution. Class day count is based on the official institution calendar for the school, not the specific course dates.

Students who drop a course, but remain enrolled at the institution will be refunded at the following rate:

Term Class Day Percent of Refund of Charges
Summer - More than 5 weeks but less than 10 weeks in duration 1st class day through 4th class day 100%
After the 4th day of class None
Fall, Spring or Summer - Duration of 10 weeks or longer 1st class day through 12th class day 100%
After the 12th day of class None

Students who withdraw from the institution (zero semester credit hours) are required to pay tuition and fees according to the following schedule based on their official withdrawal date:

Term Class Day Percent of Refund of Charges
Summer - More than 5 weeks but less than 10 weeks in duration Before the 1st class day 100%
1st, 2nd, or 3rd class day 80%
4th, 5th, or 6th class day 50%
7th class day or later None
Fall, Spring or Summer  -  duration of 10 weeks or longer Before the 1st class day 100%
1st five class days 80%
2nd five class days 70%
3rd five class days 50%
4th five class days 25%
21st class day and after None

Any refund due to a student will be after calculation of the amount of tuition and fees due at the time of withdrawal. If the student has paid less than the amount due at the time of withdrawal, the student will be required to pay the percentage due.

Title IV Return of Aid

Students who withdraw from TTUHSC or drop all courses during a term that receive(d) financial aid

It's important for students who receive financial aid and withdraw or drop all courses during the term to be aware of the refund policies and to understand the impact they will have on the aid released and the continued financial aid eligibility. Current refund policies for students who withdraw or drop all courses during a term are determined by the Higher Education Title IV refund regulations.

Federal Refund and Repayment calculations must be performed for students who receive Title IV (Pell, FSEOG, Perkins and/or Stafford Loans) funds and officially
withdraw from all courses, drop out of all courses, are expelled, take an unapproved leave of absence, or fail to return from an approved leave of absence prior to the 60%
date of the term. All "unearned aid" must be returned to the federal aid programs as determined by the Federal Refund and Repayment calculations.  

a. The requirements for Title IV program funds are separate from the university refund policy. As such, you are responsible for unpaid institutional charges
remaining after the refund calculation. You are also responsible for charges/balances created by the returning of Title IV program funds that the
school was required to return.

b. If you have questions about your Title IV program funds, you can call the Federal Student Aid Information Center at 1-800-4-FEDAID(1-800-433-3243).
TTY users may call 1-800-730-8913. Information is also available on Student Aid on the Web at www.studentaid.ed.gov.

In order to keep all the financial aid issued in each term, students must be enrollment for at least 60% of the term. After this point in the term students have earned 100% of
the Title IV funds released for the term. Therefore, it is in your best interest to maintain attendance and complete at least one class each term that you receive federal aid to
avoid repayment of funds

How the calculation works:
1) Number of days attended ÷ Days in semester = % of semester completed
2) Total $ disbursed X % completed = Earned $
3) Total $ disbursed - Earned $ = $ to be returned

Once it is determined that you owe money back to any of the federal aid
programs, you will be ineligible to receive further federal aid at TTUHSC or any
other institution, until this debt is cleared.

 

Tuition and General Fees:

School of Health Professions:

  • Texas Legal Residents: $190 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $140 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $598 per semester credit hour ($458 state, $140 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $190 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $140 institutional)
  • Graduate Tuition: This will be charged in addition to other tuition rates for students enrolled in graduate courses of study.                                                            $50 per semester credit hour

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences:

  • Texas Legal Residents: $142 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $92 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $550 per semester credit hour ($458 state, $92 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $140 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $90 institutional)

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Masters in Public Health Only:

  • Texas Legal Residents: $153 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $103 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $561 per semester credit hour ($458 state, $103 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $153 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $103 institutional)
  • Graduate Tuition: This will be charged in addition to other tuition rates for students enrolled in graduate courses of study.                                                            $50 per semester credit hour

School of Medicine:

  • Texas Legal Residents: $15,016 annual rate ($6,550 state, $8,466 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $28,116 annual rate ($19,650 state, $8,466 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $15,016 annual rate ($6,550 state, $8,466 institutional)

School of Nursing:

  • Texas Legal Residents: $190 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $140 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $598 per semester credit hour ($458 state, $140 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $190 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $140 institutional)
  • Graduate Tuition: This will be charged in addition to other tuition rates for students enrolled in graduate courses of study.                                                            $50 per semester credit hour

School of Pharmacy:

  • Texas Legal Residents: $249 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $199 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $657 per semester credit hour ($458 state, $199 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $249 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $199 institutional)
  • Pharmacy Program Tuition: This will be charged in addition to other tuition rates for students enrolled in Pharmacy courses.                                                      $100 per semester credit hour

General Fees

All fees are mandatory and authorized by state statute or the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System.

Academic Fees

  • Laboratory Fee: Not less than $2, but not more than $30 for each applicable course; $32 annual rate for School of Medicine 1st and 2nd year students
  • Information Technology Fee: $10 per semester credit hour; $240 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Academic Department Instructional Assessment Fee: To be assessed at a flat rate per student not to exceed $300 per academic term.
  • Special Course Fee: Varies; based on costs to provide instruction
  • Auditing Fee: Students enrolled for fewer than 12 semester credit hours in a semester (6 hours in summer) must pay a $10 fee for the privilege of auditing a course. Written permission from the dean of the college in which the course is being taught and from the course instructor is required. No charge is assessed for enrollment of 12 or more semester credit hours.
  • Microscope and Education Materials Fee: $50 for School of Health Professions (CLS Juniors and Seniors); $60 annual rate for School of Medicine 1st and 2nd year students; $100 annual rate for Paul Foster School of Medicine El Paso 1st and 2nd year students.
  • NBME Testing Program Support Fee: $250 annual rate for School of Medicine 1st, 2nd and 3rd year students.
  • Clinical Simulation Center Fee: $150 per applicable course for School of Nursing; $600 annual rate for School of Medicine; $800, $100 per applicable course for School of Pharmacy
  • Progressions Fee: $40 per applicable course for School of Nursing
  • Standardized Patient Fee: $150 per each applicable course for School of Nursing
  • Validation Fee: $100 for School of Nursing (charged on all graduate assessment courses)
  • Outcomes Assessment Fee: $175 each Spring semester for School of Pharmacy
  • Drug Information Center Fee: $160 each Fall semester for School of Pharmacy
  • Screening and Immunization Fee: $50 each Fall semester
  • Library Fines: Varies
  • Standardized Testing Fee: Not less than $19, but not more than $35 per applicable course

 

Student-Related Fees

  • Student Services Fee: $132 per semester if enrolled in 4 or more credit hours.  Students enrolled in less than 4 semester credit hours will be assessed $66;  $330 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Student Union Fee: $5 per semester; $12.50 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Medical Services Fee: For long terms $70.00 per semester if enrolled in 4 or more credit hours. Students enrolled in less than 4 hours may opt to pay this fee in HSC Student Business Services Office. $35.00 for all enrolled students in the short summer terms. $175 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Student Recreation Center Fee: For long terms $75 per semester if enrolled in 4 or more credit hours. Students enrolled in less than 4 semester credit hours will be charged $40. $37.50 for all enrolled students in the short summer terms. $187.50 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Identification Card Maintenance Fee: $6.00 per semester or term; $15.00 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Identification Card Replacement Fee: $10
  • International Education Fee: $4 per semester; $10 annual rate for School of Medicine

Other Fees

  • Intercollegiate Athletic Fee: $57.20 per fall and spring semester if enrolled in 4 or more credit hours. Students enrolled in less than 4 hours may purchase tickets in the Athletic Ticket Office. $114.40 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Record Processing Fee: $15 per semester; $37.50 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Application Fee: $40 for School of Health Professions; $45 for Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; $60 for School of Medicine excluding Paul L. Foster students; $40 for School of Nursing plus $25 for late applications; $100 for School of Pharmacy; and $175 for joint Pharm.D/MBA Program School of Pharmacy.
  • Graduation Fee: $45 for undergraduate programs; $45 for graduate programs; $45 doctoral programs
  • Placement Guarantee Fee: $400 for School of Pharmacy, $50 for Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and $50 for School of Nursing; $100 for School of Medicine and School of Health Professions.
  • Malpractice Insurance: $14.50 each fall semester School of Health Professions, $61 each fall semester for Physician Assistance Program; $17 each fall semester for School of Nursing, $61 each fall semester for Nurse Practitioner Program; $25 annual rate for School of Medicine; $17 each fall semester for School of Pharmacy
  • Long Term Disability Insurance: $40 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • ETD Processing Fee for Binding Theses and Dissertations:
    Master Level $50
    Doctoral Level $50
  • International Student Fee: $50 each semester charged to each nonimmigrant international student, $25 each summer session; $100 annual rate for School of Medicine
  • Orientation Fee: $50 for School of Nursing; $50 for School of Pharmacy 1st year Fall semester
  • Option Fee for Installment Payment of Tuition/Fees: $25
  • Late Charges on Loans: $25
  • Late Payment Fee: $50
  • Late Registration Fee: $50
  • Post Census Day Matriculation Fee (Reinstatement Fee): $200
  • Returned Check Charge: $30
  • Vehicle Registration Fee: A fee is required for all vehicles parked on campus. A schedule of these fees may be obtained from Parking Services at Traffic and Parking

Exemptions and Waivers:

All exemptions or waivers have been authorized by statute in the Texas Education Code or through action of the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System. Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center reserves the right, without notice in this or any other publication, to change, amend, add to or otherwise alter any or all exemptions and waivers set forth herein subject to actions by the Texas State Legislature, the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System, or other authority as the case may be.

Waivers must be submitted no later than the 12th class day of a fall or spring semester or the 4th class day of a summer term. It is the student's responsibility to check the student account to ensure the application of a waiver. No waivers will be accepted after the 20th class day (15th class day in summer terms) regardless of circumstances.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center University reserves the right to apply exemptions and waivers after the census day (12th class day of a fall or spring semester or the 4th class day of a summer term). Also, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center reserves the right to audit any exemption or waiver prior to application to a student's tuition and fee account.

  • Blind Students: Exempts a student from payment of all tuition and fees excluding charges for room and board. Certification by the Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services or the Division for Blind Services is required.


  • Biomedical Research Program—Scholarship Student: Exempts nonresident tuition. Documentation is required through the Office of International Affairs.


  • Children of Disabled Firemen: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and required fees. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.


  • Children of Disabled Peace Officers: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and required fees. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.


  • Children of Prisoners of War or Persons Missing in Action: Exempts a student from payment of Texas resident tuition and required fees. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.

  •  
  • Children of Professional Nurse Faculty and Staff:  Exempts eligible students from the payment of tuition for up to 10 semesters while pursuing a baccalaureate degree at the same institution at which the qualifying parent is currently employed or under contract as a professional nurse faculty or staff member. See Children of Professional Nurse Faculty and Staff Form

  • Competitive Scholarship: Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition over and above resident tuition. Student must be awarded a competitive scholarship of at least $1,000 for the academic year or summer of their enrollment and be either a nonresident or citizen of a country other than the United States. Student must compete with other students including Texas residents and the award must be made through a duly recognized scholarship committee. Certification is sent to the HSC Student Business Services Office from the Financial Aid Office.


  • Deaf Students: Exempts a student from payment of all tuition and fees excluding charges for room and board. Certification by the Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services or the Office for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services is required.


  • Economic Development and Diversification Employees, Spouses, and Dependents: Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board provides a listing of eligible companies. Students must provide employment certification accordingly.


  • Faculty Exemption (Teacher or Professor): Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition. Certification by employing department is required. See Faculty Tuition Waiver Form.


  • Faculty Dependent (Nonresident Dependent of Teacher or Professor): Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition. Certification by employing department is required. See Dependent Waiver Form.


  • Foster Care: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees. Must be a Texas resident. Certification from The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services is required.


  • Good Neighbor (Students from other Nations of the Western Hemisphere): Exempts a limited number of students from payment of 100% of tuition. Certification through the Office of International Affairs is required.


  • Military Personnel and Dependents: Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition. Application must be made through Admissions and Records. Certification by Unit Commander or Unit Personnel Officer is required. A separate certification is required, in original form with original signature, for each semester or term of enrollment.

  •  
  • Nurse Clinical Preceptors and their Children:  Exempts all eligible preceptors and their children from the payment of up to $500 of tuition per semester for up to 10 semesters while pursuing a baccalaureate degree.  See Clinical Preceptors Form

  • Prisoner of War: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and required fees. The U.S. Department of Defense must have classified student as a prisoner of war on or after January 1, 1999.


  • Senior Citizens (55 Years of Age and Older): Exempts a student from payment of up to 6 semester or term credit hours of resident or nonresident tuition. Student must be 55 years of age or older by the first class day. Notification should be given to the HSC Student Business Services Office at time of enrollment.


  • Senior Citizens (65 Years of Age and Older): Exempts a student from payment of up to 6 semester or term credit hours of resident tuition. Student must be 65 years of age or older by the first class day. Notification should be given to the HSC Student Business Services Office at time of enrollment.


  • TANF Students: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees for the first academic year of enrollment. Certification is required from the Department of Family and Protective Services.


  • Valedictorian (Highest Ranking High School Graduate): Exempts a Texas resident student from payment of 100% of tuition during both semesters of the first regular session immediately following his or her graduation from high school. Documentation must be provided to the HSC Student Business Services Office.


  • Veterans and Dependents (Hazlewood): Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees except the Student Services Fee and Medical Services Fee and charges for class materials paid directly to the department as a reimbursement for materials used in a laboratory setting. Requires Registrar’s certification.
  • Veterans Affairs

  • Veterans and Dependents (Partial Hazlewood): Certification by the Registrar’s Office is required. The amount exempted will be that amount calculated after the application of federal aid, which the student must utilize first.
  • Veterans Affairs

  • Graduate Student Fee Assistance Program: Teaching Assistant, Research Assistant Or Graduate Part-Time Instructor. Exempts, by Board of Regents action, the student from payment of certain fees. By Board of Regents mandate, appointment must be on or before the 12th class day of the fall or spring semester (4th class day of a summer term) as a benefits-eligible employee with employment of at least one-half time as a TA, RA or GPTI. See
  • TA/RA Fee Waiver Form

  • Graduate Student Tuition Exemption: Nonresident State Tuition Exemption — Teaching Assistant or Research Assistant. Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition over and above the state resident rate. By Texas Education Code and Texas Tech Board of Regents mandate, appointment must be on or before the 12th class day of the fall or spring semester (4th class day of a summer term) in a position that meets the definition of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Pay Plan in work related to the student's degree program. See TA/RA Tuition Waiver Form.


  • Employee Tuition Assistance Program:  Waives, by Board of Regents action, the employee from the payment of tuition and fees for up to 3 semester credit hours for the Fall, Spring, and Summer terms.  Eligibility requirements include the following:  Please be aware that all fees that are assessed are not considered mandatory fees and may not be covered under this employee benefit.  These include, but are not limited to, Malpractice Insurance Fees, Graduation Fees, and Binding/Thesis Fees.

           Must maintain a 2.25 minimum cumulative GPA
           Must be a full-time benefits-eligible employee of TTUHSC, TTU, or the TTU System
           Must be in compliance with TTUHSC and/or TTU Operating Policies regarding employee enrollment
           Must be seeking a degree certification verifiable by admissions status

           Waivers will be applied for those employees attending Texas Tech.  Notification should be given

               to the HSC Student Business Services Office at the time of enrollment in TTUHSC

               courses to receive credit on account.

           TTUHSC employees not located in Lubbock and attending a four-year institution or community college
           in their area will need to complete a certification form and submit it to the Human Resources
           Office at their respective campus to obtain tuition reimbursement. 

  • Benefits-Eligible Medical Services Waiver: Waives the student from payment of the Medical Services Fee. By Board of Regents mandate, appointment must be on or before the 12th class day of the fall or spring semester (4th class day of a summer term) in a position eligible for state benefits as defined in the Texas Civil Statutes and the Teacher Retirement System of Texas. See Medical Services Waiver Form.


  • Teaching Assistant or Research Assistant Dependent: Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition over and above state resident rate. Certification from the employing department is required. See Dependent Waiver Form.


  • Off-Campus Waiver: Waives the student from the payment of certain fees for activities, services, or facilities not available to them at their course location. Students enrolled in only web-based instruction may also be eligible for an off-campus waiver. Notification of waiver eligibility is provided from the various academic departments to the HSC Student Business Services Office for each semester/term. Waivers must be manually entered onto a students’ account after registration is completed. Students may elect to pay any or all of the waived fees by contacting the HSC Student Business Services Office.